Home

More creativity from Kate Eggleston-Wirtz:

Home

I now have nearly five poems – the Workhouse has been very inspirational. Here is one of them (can be downloaded as a pdf above):

Home

I came because, because I came.

My leg was lost. I limped – was lame.

And at what cost I’ve walked alone?

Dreaming me of goin’ home.

 

I’ve walked alone, alone I’ve walked

Along these walls, tongue-tied I’ve talked.

Tongue-tied I’ve talked and walked alone.

Dreaming me of goin’ home.

 

And at what cost, the cost to me?

Penniless – in poverty.

Pride naught! Goods naught! There’s none to own.

Dreaming me of goin’ home.

 

Crippled me without a voice.

Crippled me without a choice.

No work! Walk – limp – in pain – to groan.

Dreaming me of goin’ home.

 

In pain I lie, I lie in bed

Breathing – gasping – alive but dead.

I wished I were dead, bone upon bone.

Dying I cry, “Please let me go home!”

 

I begged – now dead – I’ve been set free.

The Workhouse now it talks for me.

No longer I must walk alone.

I walk with ghosts who called this home.

 

© 2016 Kate Eggleston-Wirtz

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

